Updated Website Coming soon!
THE MAINE STUFF
Maine Tourism Association
The Maine Tourism Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and supporting Maine's tourism industry. Founded in 1921, the association...
Owls Head Transportation Museum
The Museum is recognized for its collection of pioneer era (pre-1930) aircraft, automobiles, carriages, bicycles, motorcycles and engines.
The majority are in operating condition and demonstrated at special events, for the public to experience the excitement of our transportation heritage. Spectacular airshows accompany most events. The transportation Museum is a fun learning adventure the whole family will enjoy.
OPEN 7 days a week. Route 73, Owls Head.
Museum is part of the original “townscape”, and is designed to entertain and educate all ages to the tastes, talents and challenges of maritime life.
Each building is a different presentation that highlights life at the water’s edge. Films are shown throughout the day in various Museum buildings.
OPEN Mon-Sat 10-5 & Sun 12-5. US Rt 1, Searsport. Web Site
Maine’s largest and most popular coastal state park. 5,500 acre park with 25 miles of hiking trails along the shore and in the Megunticook Mountain range (peaks of 1,380′).
There is 112 campsites, hot showers, water faucets, playground, pets allowed, bulletin board & dumping station. Scenic attraction is the 1.4 mile road to the top of Mount Battie. The panoramic view includes the lakes, hills,
Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay.
OPEN May 15-Oct 15 Belfast Road, Camden. 236-3109
Maine’s tallest peak, “Mile High” Mt Katahdin, 4,000′ elev gain.
Hiking (75 miles of trails), fishing, boating, rafting, canoeing, kayaking, camping (restricted to campgrounds), hunting, photography, foliage watching, cross country skiing and snowmobiling. The park was a gift from Gov Percival P Baxter (former)
in 1930. Appalachian Trail starts on the top of Mt Katahdin. Abundant wildlife, plants and fossils. Maine’s “forever wild” park consists of 200,000 acres. Information- Millinocket Headquarters and Visitor Center at Togue Pond.